Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award Honorees

2022 Honorees

Photo of Ms. Diana Lopez

Ms. Diana Lopez, Award Winning Author.

Photo of the Honorable Rose Vela

The Honorable Rose Vela, Director of the President's Commission on White House Fellowships.

Photo of Dr. Todd Votteler

Dr. Todd Votteler, President of Collaborative Water Resolution LLC and Water Opinions LLC.

2021 Honorees

Dr. Christian Bolden

Dr. Christian Bolden, Associate Professor and the Interim Chair in the Criminology and Justice Department at Loyola University in New Orleans, Louisiana. 


Mr. Myric Polhemus

Mr. Myric Polhemus, Director of Talent, HR Technology and Partner Learning and Development at H-E-B.


Dr. Jeff Wilson

Dr. Jeff Wilson, Professor and Entrepreneur.

2019 Honorees

The Honorable Oliver Del Cid

The Honorable Oliver Del Cid currently serves as ambassador to Mexico for Belize.


Ms. Latrice Hertzler

Ms. Latrice Hertzler, president and owner of Future-Link Technologies, Inc


The Honorable Fred Guerra

The Honorable Fred Guerra is a retired policy analyst of government relations for the Children's Health System of Texas (CHST).

2018 Honorees

Dr. Beverly Tomek, Andrea Powell, and Dr. Pamela S. Meyer

Dr. Beverly C. Tomek, Associate Provost for University College and Associate Professor of History at the University of Houston-Victoria

Ms. Andrea C. Powell, Executive Director and Co-founder of

Dr. Pamela S. Meyer, Regents Professor in the Department of Psychology and Sociology at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Texas

Pictures from the 2018 event are now available. Click here to view.

2017 Honorees

sonia diaz

Sonia V. Diaz, Director of Public Relations and Digital Strategies at Balsera Communications
Diane Hirsch,  VP of Litigation for Valero Energy Corporation
James S. Taylor, founding partner of Vianovo in Austin, Texas

2016 Honorees

Dr. Fenda Akiwumi

Dr. Fenda Akiwumi, Associate Professor at the University of South Florida.
Mr. Barney Knight, founder and practicing partner at Knight & Partneers
Marise McDermott, Witte Museum President and CEO

2015 Honorees

Dr. Tino Villanueva

Mr. Jesus "Gilbert" Rodriguez, Jr., Del Rio Welders Equipment, Inc
Dr. Randa Safady, Vice Chancellor for External Relations in the UT System 
Dr. Tino Villanueva, Nationally recognized poet 

2014 Honorees

Mr. Robert L Mooney

Ms. Deborah Tucker, Executive Director, National Center on Domestic and Sexual Violence
Mr. Robert L. Mooney, CEO, J.R. Mooney Galleries
Mr. Michael R. Young, President, Chuy's Comida Deluxe, Inc. and Partner, Glazing Saddles, Inc.

2013 Honorees

Mr. Richard Castro

Mr. Richard Owen Baish, Retired President of El Paso Nat. Gas Co.
Mr. Richard Castro, Owner/Operator, McDonald's
Ms. Diana Holt, Attorney

2012 Honorees

Verinica Gonzales

The Hon. Veronica Gonzales, Texas State Representative District 41
Mr. Del Kolbe, Partner, Paradigm Tax Group
Dr. Roger Spiller, George C. Marshall Distinguished Professor of Military History Emeritus

2011 Honorees

kelly frels

Dr. Light Cummins, Guy M. Brian Chair of History at Austin College and State Historian of Texas

Mr. Kelly Frels, Senior Partner, Bracewell & Giuliani
The Hon. John Sharp, Chancellor, Texas A&M University System
Dr. Melba Vasquez, Psychologist and Executive Director, Vasquez & Associates Mental Health Services



2010 Honorees

michelle brown

Ms. Michelle T. Brown, Director, Refugees International, New York, NY
Dr. Patrick Cox,President of Patrick Cox Consultants, LLC.
Mr. William Cliff Davis III, President and CEO, Davis Medical Resources, Cuero, TX
Dr. Terri LeClercq, Professor of English Emerita, The University of Texas at Austin
Mr. William Steuer, Manager, U.S. Consulate General, Johannesburg, South Africa

2009 Honorees

DAAA award

Dr. Ramiro Martinez, Jr., Associate Professor of Criminal Justice, Florida International University

Dr. Charles R. Matthews, Chancellor, Texas State University System
Dr. Jill D.E. Pruetz, Associate Professor of Anthropology, Iowa State University
Mr. E.W. Bill Wright III, First Vice President-Investment Officer, Wachovia Securities LLC; Wells Fargo

2008 Honorees

Dean Ellis and Honoree Mark Gimenez

H.S. Buddy Garcia, Chair, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Mark Gimenez, Author and Attorney
Ronald Angelo Johnson, Doctoral Candidate, Purdue University
Timothy Robert Staskus, Key Accounts Manager, Anheuser-Busch, Inc.
Mary-Agnes Taylor, Professor Emerita of English, Texas State University