Distinguished Alumni Awards Gala

The College of Liberal Arts Honors Three Distinguished Alums

On April 2nd, 2022, the College of Liberal Arts hosted the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award Gala. The DAAA award recognizes exceptional contributions of Texas State University Liberal Arts graduates to society, the arts and humanities, and the environment. The awardees are being honored for their contributions to literature, public service, and conservation.

Photo of 2022 distinguished alumni honorees with Dean Brennan and Dr. Golato

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Honorees

Ms. Diana Lopez is an award-winning author who earned her M.F.A. in English from Texas State in 1999. Her works include an adult novella, several middle grade books, and the novel Choke, which the Lifetime Movie Network adapted for a film in 2014. She is also the author of the novel adaptation of the award-winning Disney/Pixar film Coco. She is currently the Vice-President of the Texas Institute of Letters

Judge Rose Vela is a retired Texas State District Judge and Appellate Justice with a 32-year career in both law and politics. She is the current Director of the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships. She earned her B.A. in English with a minor in Political Science in 1985 from Texas State University.

Dr. Todd Votteler is the President of Collaborative Water Resolution LLC and Water Opinions LLC. He has 30 years of experience in Texas water policy, dispute resolution, and science. He earned his Ph.D. in Environmental Geography from Texas State University in 2000. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Texas Water Journal, a Fellow of the Meadows Center for Water and the Environment, and an advisory committee member for the Permanent Forum of Binational Waters.

Photo of texas state graduation

Distinguished Alumni

View current and past College of Liberal Arts Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards Honorees.